BRADFORD THEATRES ANNOUNCE AUTUMN 2019 SEASON

Adam Renton, General Manager Bradford Theatres says:

“At the award-winning Alhambra Theatre, we open the season with the ‘first class thriller’ The Girl on the Train, followed by a huge choice of musicals including Kinky Boots, Priscilla Queen of the Desert, Mamma Mia! and The Bodyguard.  Don’t forget to book early for Yorkshire’s biggest and most lavish pantomime – this year it’s Snow White & the Seven Dwarfs.

Following an extensive and transformational refurbishment at St George’s Hall, we look forward to welcoming an array of musicians and singers, including Elkie Brooks, Jools Holland, Lulu and indie rock band Bastille; as well as the return of our international classical music season, with resident orchestra, The Hallé. The new Café at St George’s Hall is now open and we hope you will call in to enjoy a drink and some food with us.

Comedy is in plentiful supply this autumn at both St George’s Hall and King’s Hall in Ilkley with: Count Arthur Strong, Romesh Ranganathan, Henning Wehn, Ben Elton, Lenny Henry, Jimmy Carr, Ed Byrne and more!”

September

The James Bond Concert Spectacular - Friday 6 September 7.30pm, St George’s Hall
The popular Q The Music Show brings the fabulous and iconic music of James Bond to you in a stunning concert with guest compere Caroline Bliss.  

The Girl on the Train - Tuesday 10 – Saturday 14 September, Alhambra Theatre
Signed: Thur 12 September 7.30pm, Captioned: Fri 13 September 7.30pm, Audio Described: Sat 14 September 2.30pm
Adapted from Paula Hawkins’ novel – an international phenomenon selling over twenty million copies worldwide – and starring Samantha Womack and Oliver Farnworth, this gripping new play will keep you guessing until the final moment. Age recommendation 14+

Showaddywaddy - Friday 13 September 7.30pm, St George’s Hall

Dolly & The Moonshine Runners - Thursday 12 September, King's Hall Ilkley

Rip It Up! Singing & Dancing through the 70s - Tuesday 17 September 7.30pm, St George’s Hall
Join Olympic champion Louis Smith, Rachel Stevens S Club 7, Lee Ryan Blue and Melody Thornton Pussycat Dolls for a groovy evening of singing and dancing.

Priscilla Queen of the Desert - Tuesday 17 – Saturday 21 September, Alhambra Theatre
Signed: Thur 19 September 7.30pm, Captioned: Fri 20 September 7.30pm, Audio Described: Sat 21 September 2.30pm
Starring Strictly Come Dancing winner Joe McFadden, Priscilla is the hilarious adventure of three friends who hop aboard a battered old bus bound for the Outback to put on the show of a lifetime. Their epic journey is a heart-warming story of self-discovery, sassiness and acceptance. Age recommendation 13+

An Evening with Lesley Garrett - Wednesday 18 September 7.30pm, St George’s Hall

Voice of the Heart The Carpenters - Wednesday 18 September 7.30pm, King’s Hall, Ilkley

Steve Harley Trio - Friday 20 September 7.30pm, King’s Hall, Ilkley

Count Arthur Strong Is There Anybody Out There? - Saturday 21 September 8pm, King’s Hall, Ilkley

Joe Brown 60th Anniversary Tour - Tuesday 24 September 7.30pm, King’s Hall, Ilkley

Tom Gates Live On Stage - Wednesday 25 – Saturday 28 September, Alhambra Theatre
Signed: Fri 27 September 10.30am
Based on the best-selling books by Liz Pichon, this brand-new story is brought to you by the award winning producers of Horrible Histories and Gangsta Granny. It’s pure fun for the whole family whether you’re a lover of the books or new to Tom and his friends!

Hot Flush! The Musical - Wed 25 September 7.30pm, St George’s Hall

The Manfreds - Thursday 26 September 7.45pm, King's Hall Ilkley - SELLING FAST!

The Magic of Motown - Thursday 26 September 7.30pm, St George’s Hall

Les McKeown’s Bay City Rollers - Saturday 28 September 7.30pm, St George’s Hall

October

Steve Steinman’s Anything For Love - The Meat Loaf Story - Wed 9 October 7.30pm, St George’s Hall

Jimmy Carr - Terribly Funny - Thursday 10 October 8pm, St George’s Hall. Age recommendation 18+ SELLING FAST!

Believe - The Cher Songbook - Friday 11 October 7.30pm, St George’s Hall

One Night of Elvis Lee Memphis King - Saturday 12 October 7.30pm, St George’s Hall

Dance Consortium presents Dada Masilo - Giselle - Friday 11 & Saturday 12 October, Alhambra Theatre
Opening in a lively South African village, Masilo’s Giselle tells the story of a trusting peasant girl who is thrust into a world of betrayal and shame when her lover rejects her. Spurned by her family and killed by heartbreak, Giselle returns from the grave as a supernatural being, bent on revenge. Age recommendation 12+, contains some partial nudity. Post-show Q&A with members of the company on Friday evening. Free to ticket holders.

Kinky Boots - Tuesday 15 – Saturday 26 October, Alhambra Theatre
Signed: Thur 17 October 7.30pm, Captioned: Thur 24 October 7.30pm, Audio Described: Sat 26 October 2.30pm
With songs by Grammy® and Tony® winning pop icon Cyndi Lauper, Kinky Boots takes you from the factory floor to the glamorous catwalks of Milan. West End star Kayi Ushe will be putting on the boots to play Lola. He will be joined by Paula Lane as Lauren, best known for her role as Kylie Platt in Coronation Street, and Joel Harper-Jackson, who recently starred in the UK tour of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time, will be playing Charlie Price. Age recommendation 10+.

Lulu On Fire - Friday 18 October 7.30pm, St George’s Hall

Elkie Brooks - Saturday 19 October 7.30pm, St George’s Hall

Stick Man - Monday 21 - Wednesday 23 October Mon 3.30pm; Tue 11am & 1.30pm; Wed 11am & 1.30pm, St George’s Hall. Touching, funny and utterly original, Freckle Productions’ delightful adaptation of Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler’s Stick Man is back!

Gilbert O’Sullivan in Concert Just Gilbert - Tuesday 22 October 7.30pm, King's Hall Ilkley

Suzi Ruffell Dance Like Everyone’s Watching - Wednesday 23 October 8pm, The Studio

The Cavern Beatles - Wednesday 23 October 7.30pm, King's Hall Ilkley

The Unthanks The Emily Brontë Song Cycle + Special Guests - Thursday 24 October 7.30pm, St George’s Hall

Royal Shakespeare Company First Encounters: The Merchant of Venice - Thursday 24 October, The Studio

Big Girls Don’t Cry - Friday 25 October 7.30pm, St George’s Hall

Celebrating the music of Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons, St George’s Hall

Lee Mead – My Story – Friday 25 October 7.45pm, King’s Hall Ilkley

Darren Harriot - Good Heart Yute - Friday 25 October 7.30pm, The Studio

Flanders Symphony Orchestra - Saturday 26 October 7.30pm, St George’s Hall

Part of Bradford’s International Classical Music Season 2019/20 - 152nd Orchestral Concert Season Fastlove A Tribute to George Michael - Thursday 31 October 7.30pm, St George’s Hall

Mamma Mia - Wednesday 30 October – Saturday 23 November, Alhambra Theatre
Captioned: Thur 7 November 7.30pm, Signed: Thur 14 November 7.30pm, Audio Described: Sat 16 November 2.30pm
Set on a Greek island paradise, a story of love, friendship and identity is cleverly told through the timeless songs of ABBA. Age recommendation 5+.

November

An Evening with Lenny Henry: Who Am I Again? - Tuesday 5 November 7.30pm, St George’ Hall

Prague Symphony Orchestra - Saturday 9 November 7.30pm, St George’ Hall
Part of Bradford’s International Classical Music Season 2019/20 - 152nd Orchestral Concert Season

The Stylistics - A Night of Back to Back Hits - Tuesday 12 November 7.30pm, St George’ Hall

Richard & Adam - The Greatest Songmen UK Tour 2019 - Thursday 14 November 7.30pm, King's Hall Ilkley

Neil Oliver - The Story of The British Isles in 100 Places - Friday 15 November 7.30pm, St George’ Hall

Broken Ring Wrestling - Saturday 16 November 7pm, St George's Hall

Paul Zerdin’s Puppet Party - Tuesday 19 November 7.30pm, King's Hall Ilkley

Mugenkyo Taiko Drummers Tribe 25 - Tuesday 19 November 7.30pm, St George’ Hall

Psychic Sally Morgan - Wednesday 20 November 7.30pm, St George’ Hall
This show is investigational and for the purposes of entertainment.

Jools Holland and his Rhythm & Blues Orchestra - Thursday 21 November 7.30pm, St George’ Hall

Michael Starring Ben - Friday 22 November 7.30pm, St George’ Hall
Featuring the UK’s ultimate Michael Jackson tribute star, Ben Bowman

Pasadena Roof Orchestra with singer and band leader Duncan Galloway - Thursday 28 November 7.30pm, King's Hall Ilkley

The Bodyguard - Tuesday 26 November – Saturday 7 December, Alhambra Theatre
Captioned: Fri 29 November 7.30pm, Signed: Thur 5 December 7.30pm, Audio Described: Sat 7 December 2.30pm
The international, award-winning smash-hit musical based on the blockbuster film, The Bodyguard is back! Following her triumphant West End run and sell-out UK Tour, Alexandra Burke* returns to the role of Rachel Marron in Bradford. Age recommendation 12+ *Alexandra Burke will perform the role of ‘Rachel Marron’ at evening performances only. The producers of The Bodyguard cannot guarantee the appearance of any particular artist, which is always subject to illness and holidays. Please check before booking.

December

Christmas Crooners Santa Baby - Tuesday 3 December 7.30pm, King's Hall Ilkley

Bastille - Doom Days Club Nights - Tuesday 3 December 7pm, St George's Hall. SOLD OUT!

Romesh Ranganathan - The Cynic’s Mixtape - Wednesday 4 December 8pm, St George's Hall. Age recommendation 14+

Henning Wehn - Get On With It - Thursday 5 December 7.30pm, St George's Hall. Age recommendation 16+

The Bootleg Beatles - Friday 6 December 7.30pm, St George's Hall

Sounds of The 70s with The Zoots - Friday 6 December 7.45pm, King's Hall Ilkley

Darkside The Pink Floyd Show - Which One’s Pink? Tour - Saturday 7 December 7.30pm, King's Hall Ilkley

The Drifters - Saturday 7 December 7.30pm, St George's Hall

Ben Elton Live - Sunday 8 December 7.30pm, St George's Hall

Dear Santa - Monday 9 & Tuesday 10 December Mon 1pm & 4pm; Tue 10.30am & 1.30pm, King's Hall Ilkley

Rod Campbell’s Dear Santa is an ideal introduction to theatre for those aged 2 to 7 years old – they will get to meet Santa after the show!

Comedy Dinner Shows - Del & Rodney - Monday 9 & Tuesday 10 Dec Doors 7pm, events start 7.30pm, Restaurant 1914 at the Alhambra Theatre (includes three-course dinner)

Comedy Dinner Shows - René & Edith – Wednesday 11 December Doors 7pm, event starts 7.30pm, Restaurant 1914 at the Alhambra Theatre (includes three-course dinner)

A Christmas Evening with Merrill Osmond - Thursday 12 December 7.30pm, St George's Hall

Into The Groove - The Ultimate Tribute to Madonna - Thursday 12 December 7.45pm, King's Hall Ilkley

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs - Saturday 14 December 2019 – Sunday 26 January 2020, Alhambra Theatre. Signed: Thur 19 December 2pm, Audio Described: Thur 2 January 2pm/7.15pm, Captioned: Sun 12 January 1pm,Relaxed Performance: Tue 14 Jan 6pm.

Don’t miss the magic of this year’s enchanting family pantomime, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs starring Alhambra Theatre panto legend Billy Pearce, Steps star and Strictly Come Dancing finalist Faye Tozer and family TV favourite Paul Chuckle.

The Snowman - Wednesday 18 December 1.30pm & 6.30pm, St George's Hall

Ed Byrne - If I’m Honest... Saturday 14 December 8pm, St George’s Hall. Age recommendation 16+
The Chicago Blues Brothers Christmas Party - Saturday 21 December 7.30pm, St George’s Hall

Amateur

Centre Stage Theatre Productions - The Wizard of Oz - Thursday 3 – Saturday 5 October, St George’s Hall

CC Dance Company presents - The Greatest Show - Tuesday 8 & Wednesday 9 October, Alhambra Theatre

Stage 84 Presents - Christmas Spectacular 2019 - Saturday 30 November, St George’s Hall

The Great Yorkshire Chorus presents - A Great Yorkshire Christmas - Friday 20 December, St George’s Hall

‹ Back to news