BRADFORD THEATRES ANNOUNCE SPRING 2019 SEASON

The Alhambra Theatre welcomes shows including Matilda The Musical (Alhambra is the only Yorkshire venue!); Motown The Musical; the Royal Shakespeare Company’s Romeo & Juliet; and Mark Morris Dance Group with a unique tribute to the 50th anniversary of The Beatles’ Sgt Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band.

St George’s Hall will re-open in February 2019 following major refurbishment with performances by singer Barbara Dickson, comedian Rhod Gilbert and the wonderful Strictly Come Dancing stars Anton & Erin with their new show Dance Those Magical Musicals, amongst others.

There’s an exhilarating selection of comedy, music and other events at King’s Hall, Ilkley, including the iconic folk band Steeleye Span who will perform their 50th anniversary concert. Meanwhile, Ahir Shah brings his new show, Duffer to The Studio in Bradford,

Adam Renton, General Manager Bradford Theatres says:
“We have a terrific season in store for you in spring 2019, packed full of incredible productions, star performers and top musicians. The Alhambra Theatre, just voted the Most Welcoming Theatre in Yorkshire and The Humber for the second year running, has a sensational line-up, with a number of shows coming here on their first UK Tour.

There is a varied programme of top-notch comedy, music and drama at St George’s Hall which re-opens this season, after a major refurbishment. Audiences can expect a better experience now that facilities at the historic hall have been brought up-to-date, with better sight-lines and comfort in the auditorium. Our other venues, King’s Hall in Ilkley and The Studio in Bradford, also offer a great assortment of entertainment – so please check them out – and enjoy the season!”

Still Booking
Aladdin – 8 December – 20 January 2019, Alhambra Theatre
Signed: Thur 20 Dec 2.30pm, Audio Described: Wed 2 Jan 2pm & 7.15pm, Relaxed Performance: Tue 8 Jan 6pm, Captioned: Sun 13 Jan 1pm.
Hop aboard a magical carpet and fly to Old Peking in this year’s must-see festive show Aladdin. Starring the undisputed King of Bradford Panto, Billy Pearce, stage, screen and pantomime legend, the one-and-only Christopher Biggins and Blue star Simon Webbe.

January
Sandi Toksvig Live! National Trevor - Thursday 10 January - King’s Hall, Ilkley.
Tasmin Little (Violin) and John Lenehan (Piano) Friday 18 January, Bradford Cathedral - Part of Bradford International Classical Concert Season 2018/19: Bradford 31st Chamber Season
Ahir Shah: Duffer - Saturday 19 January – The Studio
Jason Manford: Muddle Class - Saturday 26 January - Alhambra Theatre (Age 13+)

Dirty Dancing - Monday 28 January – Saturday 2 February 2019, Alhambra Theatre
Captioned: Thur 31 Jan 7.30pm, Audio Described: Sat 2 Feb 3pm
Exploding on to the Alhambra Theatre stage, with heart-pounding music, breath-taking emotion and sensationally sexy dancing. (Age 13+)

February
European Union Chamber Orchestra with Bradford Cathedral Choir - Friday 1 February 7.30pm - Bradford Cathedral.

Club Tropicana The Musical - Monday 4 – Saturday 9 February 2019, Alhambra Theatre
Signed: Thur 7 Feb 7.30pm, Captioned: Fri 8 Feb 7.30pm, Audio Described: Sat 9 Feb 2.30pm
A brand new 80s musical from the producers of the hit UK tour of Hairspray with a star cast led by Joe McElderry ( of XFactor winner and star of Joseph and his Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat).

RSC Romeo and Juliet - 12 - 16 February - Alhambra Theatre
Captioned: Thur 14 Feb 7.30pm, Semi-Integrated Signed: Fri 15 Feb 7.30pm, Audio Described: Sat 16 Feb 2pm.
The Royal Shakespeare Company returns to Bradford with the most famous story of love at first sight.
“Fresh, Fleet, Blade-Sharp” Daily Telegraph 

An Evening with Kim Woodburn - Tuesday 12 February - King’s Hall, Ilkley.
Swede Dreamz Abba Tribute - Friday 15 February - King’s Hall, Ilkley.
Barbara Dickson in Concert - Friday 15 February – St George’s Hall.
Fisherman’s Friends - Saturday 16 February - King’s Hall, Ilkley.
Robert White: The Tank Top Tour - Saturday 16 February - St George’s Hall. (Age 16+)

Matilda The Musical - Tuesday 19 February – Saturday 23 March 2019, Alhambra Theatre
Audio Described: Wed 6 Mar 2pm, Captioned: Thur 7 Mar 7.30pm, Signed: Thur 14 Mar 7.30pm
The multi-award winning musical from the Royal Shakespeare Company, inspired by the beloved book by the incomparable Roald Dahl, Matilda The Musical is the story of an extraordinary little girl who, armed with a vivid imagination and a sharp mind, dares to take a stand and change her own destiny.

Jimeoin: Result! - Tuesday 19 February - King’s Hall, Ilkley. (Age 16+)
Spirit of the Dance - Tuesday 19 February - St George’s Hall.
Hallé: Carlos Miguel Prieto (Conductor) Sergio Castelló López (Clarinet) - Thursday 21 February - St George’s Hall – Bradford 151st International Orchestral Concert Season 2019.

George Todica (Piano) - Friday 22 February - Bradford Cathedral - Part of Bradford International Classical Concert Season 2018/19: Bradford 31st Chamber Season.

Little Mix Magic - Sunday 24 February - King’s Hall, Ilkley.
Rhod Gilbert: The Book of John - Wednesday 27 February - St George’s Hall. (Age 16+)
Lee Nelson: Serious Joker - Thursday 28 February - King’s Hall, Ilkley. (Age 14+)

March
Rock ‘n’ Roll Dreams Came True: Meat Loaf the Story - Friday 1 March - King’s Hall, Ilkley.
Singalonga The Greatest Showman – Friday 1 March – St George’s Hall.
Trust Fast Health With Dr Michael Mosley - Friday 8 March - St George’s Hall.
Dan Snow: An Evening with The History Guy - Monday 11 March - King’s Hall, Ilkley.
Anton and Erin - Those Magical Musicals - Wednesday 13 March - St George’s Hall.

Pelléas Ensemble - Henry Roberts (Flute) Luba Tunnicliffe (Viola) Oliver Wass (Harp) - Friday 15 March - Bradford Cathedral - Part of Bradford International Classical Concert Season 2018/19: Bradford 31st Chamber Season.

Hallé: Tomáš Hanus (Conductor) Eric Lu (Piano) - Friday 15 March - St George’s Hall – Bradford 151st International Orchestral Concert Season 2019.

The Dreamboys - Saturday 16 March - St George’s Hall.
Mark Steel: Every Little Thing’s Gonna be Alright - Saturday 16 March - King’s Hall, Ilkley. (Age 14+)
Milkshake! Live - Sunday 17 March - St George’s Hall.
Sincerely Yours: The Vera Lynn Story - Wednesday 20 March - King’s Hall, Ilkley.
The Counterfeit Stones - Thursday 21 March - King’s Hall, Ilkley.
What’s Love Got To Do With It? - Thursday 21 March – St George’s Hall.

Avenue Q – Tuesday 26 - 30 March - Alhambra Theatre
Signed: Thur 28 Mar 7.30pm, Captioned: Fri 29 Mar 5.30pm, Audio Described: Sat 30 Mar 2.30pm
Catch-up with all your favourite (and unforgettable) characters on a downtown New York street trying to make sense of life’s burning issues – like what do you do with a BA in English? How do you find your purpose? And is the internet really just for... nevermind. (Age 14+)

April
Dance Consortium presents Mark Morris Dance Group: Pepperland - Tuesday 2 & Wednesday 3 April - Alhambra Theatre – with Post Show Q &A.
Mark Morris celebrates the 50th anniversary of Sgt Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band with an exuberant new dance work that revels in the eccentric charm and joyful optimism of The Beatles’ ground-breaking album.

Steeleye Span 50th Anniversary Tour - Tuesday 2 April - King’s Hall, Ilkley.
Illegal Eagles - Thursday 4 April - St George’s Hall.
Twirlywoos Live - Saturday 6 & Sunday 7 April - St George’s Hall. Recommended (Age 1+)

Motown The Musical – Tuesday 9 - Saturday 20 April - Alhambra Theatre
Audio Described: Sat 13 Apr 2.30pm, Signed: Wed 17 Apr 7.30pm, Captioned: Thur 18 Apr 7.30pm
The sensational hit west end musical is bringing its unique sound to Bradford and is guaranteed to have you dancing in the street!

Emma Johnson (Clarinet) with the Gildas Quartet - Friday 12 April - Bradford Cathedral - Part of Bradford International Classical Concert Season 2018/19: Bradford 31st Chamber Season.

The Best of Wham! - Friday 12 April - King’s Hall, Ilkley.
Stewart Francis: Into The Punset - Saturday 13 April - St George’s Hall.
The Johnny Cash Roadshow: San Quentin Anniversary Show - Wednesday 17 April - King’s Hall, Ilkley.
Sweet Caroline: The ultimate tribute to Neil Diamond - Thursday 18 April - King’s Hall, Ilkley.

Rita, Sue and Bob Too - Thursday 18 – Saturday 20 April - St George’s Hall.
A co-production by Out of Joint and Octagon Theatre, Bolton.
Told with wicked humour, startling insight and a great ear for dialogue, Andrea Dunbar’s sem iautobiographical play is a vivid portrait of girls caught between brutal childhood and an unpromising future. Written when Andrea Dunbar was just 19, Rita, Sue and Bob Too was an instant hit, later adapted into a much-loved 80s film. (Age 16+)

The Story of the Guitar Heroes - Saturday 20 April - King’s Hall, Ilkley

Annie - Monday 22 – Saturday 27 April - Alhambra Theatre
Audio Described: Wed 24 Apr 2pm, Signed: Thur 25 Apr 7.30pm, Captioned: Fri 26 Apr 7.30pm
The smash-hit production of Annie comes to Bradford for one week only, direct from London’s West End. This ‘glorious revival’ (The Times) stars award-winning actress Anita Dobson (EastEnders, Wicked, Loose Women, Chicago, Call The Midwife) as the tyrannical Miss Hannigan!

George Hinchliffe’s Ukelele Orchestra of Great Britain – Saturday 27 April – St George’s Hall.

Ghost - Tuesday 30 April – Saturday 4 May - Alhambra Theatre
Signed: Thur 2 May 7.30pm, Captioned: Fri 3 May 7.30pm. Audio Described: Sat 4 May 2.30pm
The movie Ghost has proven to be one of cinema’s biggest all-time hits. Starring the late Patrick Swayze, Demi Moore and Whoopi Goldberg it was the highest grossing film of 1990 and won an Oscar for screenwriter Bruce Joel Rubin who has adapted his screenplay for this musical. The movie and the musical feature The Righteous Brothers’ Unchained Melody alongside many more terrific songs co-written by Eurythmics’ Dave Stewart.

Amateur
Buttershaw St Paul’s Amateur Operatic & Dramatic Society presents Made in Dagenham: - Wednesday 23 – Friday 25 January at the Alhambra Theatre. A welcome return for one of Bradford’s leading amateur theatre groups.

‹ Back to news