BRADFORD THEATRES ANNOUNCE SPRING 2020 SEASON

Adam Renton, General Manager Bradford Theatres says:

“With a wide range of exciting events taking place at all four of our venues, there’s something for everyone to enjoy in our forthcoming spring season.

There’s still time to grab a ticket for the fairest panto in Yorkshire, Snow White & The Seven Dwarfs, which runs at the Alhambra Theatre until the end of January. Then we launch into our spring season with, amongst other things, a superb range of dance productions. We have a welcome return by Rambert and Matthew Bourne’s The Red Shoes; and a Yorkshire exclusive visit by Acosta Danza, with a guest appearance by international ballet superstar Carlos Acosta.

We also have an array of amazing musicals this season at the Alhambra Theatre with the
awe-inspiring We Will Rock You; and return visits by Beautiful, Joseph and the global phenomenon Disney’s The Lion King, which will take up its 8 week residency at the end of April.

The new Café at St George’s Hall is now open and we hope you will call in to enjoy a drink and some food with us. The spring season at our newly refurbished venue includes a fantastic mix of family shows and comedy, as well as classical music with visits from the Hallé including their popular New Year Viennese concert.”

December & January

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs - Saturday 14 December 2019 – Sunday 26 January 2020, Alhambra Theatre. Signed: Thur 19 December 2pm, Audio Described: Thur 2 January 2pm/7.15pm, Captioned: Sun 12 January 1pm,Relaxed Performance: Tue 14 Jan 6pm.
Don’t miss the magic of this year’s enchanting family pantomime, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs starring Alhambra Theatre panto legend Billy Pearce, Steps star and Strictly Come Dancing finalist Faye Tozer and family TV favourite Paul Chuckle.

The Hallé - Sunday 5 January 3pm, St George’s Hall

Part of Bradford’s International Classical Music Season 2019/20 - 152nd Bradford Orchestral Season

An Evening with Alan Titchmarsh, Trowel and error – tales from my life on earth - Thursday 9 January 7.30pm, King's Hall Ilkley

Sandi Toksvig Live! National Trevor - Saturday 11 January 7.30pm, St George’s Hall

Sounds of the 60s Live with Tony Blackburn - Thursday 16 January 7.30pm, St George’s Hall

Gary Delaney Gagsters Paradise - Saturday 18 January 8pm, The Studio. SELLING FAST!

I’m Sorry I Haven’t A Clue Stage Tour - Mon 27 January 7.30pm, St George’s Hall
Join Tim Brooke-Taylor, Tony Hawks, Marcus Brigstocke, Richard Osman and host Jack Dee for an unmissable evening of inspired nonsense.

An Inspector Calls - Wednesday 29 January - Saturday 1 February, Alhambra Theatre
Captioned: Fri 31 January 7.30pm, Audio Described: Sat 1 February 2.30pm
Stephen Daldry’s multi award-winning production for the National Theatre of An Inspector Calls returns after a sell-out London season and American tour. Daldry’s visionary, radical, challenging version of JB Priestley’s classic thriller is hailed as the theatrical event of its generation.

February

European Union Chamber Orchestra - Sat 1 February 7.30pm, St George’s Hall
Part of Bradford’s International Classical Music Season 2019/20 - 152nd Bradford Orchestral Season

Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor® Dreamcoat - Tuesday 4 – Saturday 8 February, Alhambra Theatre
Signed: Thur 6 February 7.30pm, Captioned: Fri 7 February 8pm, Audio Described: Sat 8 February 2pm
Bill Kenwright’s production of Tim Rice and Andrew Lloyd Webber’s sparkling family musical comes to the Alhambra Theatre. Starring Britain’s Got Talent sensation Mark McMullan as Joseph.

Spirit of the Dance - Wednesday 5 February 7.30pm, St George’s Hall

Clinton Baptiste The Paranormalist Returns! Thursday 6 February 7.30pm, The Studio

As seen on Peter Kay’s Phoenix Nights - Age recommendation 14+.

John Archer Against The Odds - Friday 7 February 8pm, The Studio. Age recommendation 12+

Good Vibrations Classic Beach Boys - Saturday 8 February 7.30pm, St George's Hall
Featuring The English Philharmonic Orchestra.

Rambert - Wednesday 12 – Friday 14 February, Alhambra Theatre
Post-show Q&A with members of the company: Wed 12 February – free to ticket holders
All great artists start somewhere. Don’t miss world-class dance company Rambert’s new show, bringing together three choreographers’ moments of breakthrough.

Steve Steinman’s Vampires Rock Ghost Train - Thursday 13 February 7.30pm, St George's Hall

The Traveling Wilburys Songbook - Saturday 15 February 7.30pm, King's Hall Ilkley

The Hallé - Saturday 15 February 7.30pm, St George’s Hall

Part of Bradford’s International Classical Music Season 2019/20 - 152nd Bradford Orchestral Season

John Shuttleworth’s Back - Tuesday 18 February 7.30pm, King's Hall Ilkley

We Will Rock You - Monday 17 – Saturday 22 February
Signed: Thursday 20 February 7.30pm, Captioned: Fri 21 February 7.30pm, Audio Described: Sat 22 February 2.30pm
The worldwide smash hit musical by Queen and Ben Elton returns to the UK. The multi-million pound show dazzles all the senses in breath-taking style. Guaranteed to blow your mind, this musical phenomenon is not to be missed!

Tango Fire - Accompanied by the Tango Fuego Quartet - Wednesday 19 February 7.30pm, St George's Hall

Herman’s Hermits 55th Anniversary Tour - Thursday 20 February 7.30pm, King's Hall Ilkley

Fascinating Aida - Thursday 20 February 7.30pm, St George's Hall. Age recommendation 14+
With Dillie Keane, Adèle Anderson and Liza Pulman.

Aria Quartet, Basel - Friday 21 February 7.30pm, St George's Hall
Part of Bradford’s International Classical Music Season 2019/20 - 32nd Bradford Chamber Season

The Sound of Music - Tuesday 25 – Saturday 29 February
Captioned: Fri 28 February 7.30pm, Audio Described: Sat 29 February 2.30pm
One of the greatest musicals of all time returns to the Alhambra Theatre. This wonderfully lavish staging tells the true story of the world-famous singing family, from their romantic beginnings and search for happiness, to their thrilling escape to freedom at the start of WWll.

Flo and Joan Before The Screaming Starts - Friday 21 February 8pm, The Studio

The Music of Prince - Saturday 22 February 7.30pm, St George's Hall

Menopause the Musical 2 Cruising Through Menopause - Wednesday 26 February 7.30pm, St George's Hall. Age recommendation 16+.

Dom Joly’s Holiday Snaps Travel and Comedy in the Danger Zone - Thursday 27 February 7.30pm, King's Hall Ilkley. Parental guidance.

The Foundations - Friday 28 February 7.30pm, King's Hall Ilkley

Boyzlife Tour 2020 - Featuring Brian McFadden and Keith Duffy - Saturday 29 February 7.30pm, St George's Hall

March

Beautiful The Carole King Musical - Tuesday 3 - Saturday 7 March, Alhambra Theatre
Signed: Thur 5 March 7.30pm, Captioned: Fri 6 March 7.30pm, Audio Described: Sat 7 March 2.30pm
Beautiful tells the inspiring true story of Carole King’s remarkable rise to stardom, from being part of a hit song-writing team with her husband Gerry Goffin, to her relationship with fellow writers and best friends Cynthia Weil and Barry Mann, to becoming one of the most successful solo acts in popular music history.

The Tiger Who Came To Tea - Tuesday 3 & Wednesday 4 March, St George's Hall. Suitable for children aged 3+.

Andy Parsons Healing The Nation - Thursday 5 March 8pm, King's Hall Ilkley Ages 14+ (parental guidance) due to swearing and adult content

Benjamin Grosvenor - Friday 6 March 7.30pm, St George's Hall 
Part of Bradford’s International Classical Music Season 2019/20 - 32nd Bradford Chamber Season

The Tina Turner Experience - Friday 6 March 7.30pm, King's Hall Ilkley

Lipstick on Your Collar - Saturday 7 March 7.30pm, King's Hall Ilkley

Stephen Bailey Can’t Be Bothered - Thursday 12 March 7.30pm, The Studio. Age recommendation 16+

Acosta Danza Evolution - Friday 13 & Saturday 14 March, Alhambra Theatre
Audio Described: Sat 14 March 7.30pm Post-show Q&A with members of the company: Fri 13 March – free to ticket holders.
International ballet superstar Carlos Acosta and his critically acclaimed Cuban company Acosta Danza perform a programme of new and existing works. Acosta makes a guest appearance in the iconic Rooster, choreographed by Christopher Bruce to music by the Rolling Stones.

Matthew Bourne’s The Red Shoes - Tuesday 17 – Saturday 21 March, Alhambra Theatre
Audio Described: Sat 21 March 2.30pm. Post-show Q&A with members of the company: Tue 17 March – free to ticket holders
A sell-out before its world premiere tour opened in 2016, Matthew Bourne’s triumphant adaptation of the legendary film returns after winning two Olivier Awards and dazzling audiences across the UK and the USA. Age recommendation 7+

Adam Kay This is Going to Hurt (secret diaries of a Junior Doctor) - Sunday 15 March 7.30pm, St George's Hall. Age recommendation 12+

Thank You for The Music The ultimate tribute to ABBA - Thursday 19 March 7.45pm, King's Hall Ilkley

Northern Live - Do I Love You - Friday 20 March 7.30pm, St George's Hall

Ian Waite & Vincent Simone The Ballroom Boys Act Two - Monday 30 March 7.30pm, St George's Hall

Senbla by arrangement with Opera International presents An Ellen Kent Production
La Bohème - Wednesday 25 March, 7.30pm, Alhambra Theatre
La Bohème is one of the most romantic operas ever written. This classic tale of Parisian love and loss features many famous arias including Your Tiny Hand Is Frozen, They Call Me Mimi and Musetta’s Waltz.

Madama Butterfly - Thursday 26 March, 7.30pm, Alhambra Theatre
Madama Butterfly is one of the world’s most popular operas. Highlights include the melodic Humming Chorus, the moving aria One Fine Day and the unforgettable Love Duet.

David Walliams' Billionaire Boy - Tuesday 31 March – Saturday 4 April, Alhambra Theatre
Signed:Thur 2 April 10.30am
Joe Spud is twelve years old and the richest boy in the country. He has his own sports car, two crocodiles as pets and £100,000 a week pocket money! But what Joe doesn't have is a friend. So he decides to leave his posh school and start at the local comp. But things don't go as planned for Joe and life becomes a rollercoaster as he tries to find what money can't buy!

April

Linos Piano Trio - Friday 3 April 7.30pm, St George's Hall
Part of Bradford’s International Classical Music Season 2019/20 - 32nd Bradford Chamber Season

Kiri Pritchard-McLean - Empathy, Pains - Saturday 4 April 7.30pm, The Studio. Age recommendation 16+.

What's In A Name? Tuesday 7 – Saturday 11 April, Alhambra Theatre
Captioned: Fri 10 April 7.30pm, Audio Described: Sat 11 April 2.30pm
You are invited to take a seat at the table for a riotously funny evening that questions whether a person’s name truly reflects who they are. Stars Joe Thomas (The Inbetweeners, Fresh Meat), Bo Poraj (Miranda, Musketeers) and Laura Patch (Afterlife, Star Stories). Age recommendation 14+

A Tribute to Amy - The Amy Winehouse Celebration - Thursday 9 April 7.45pm, King's Hall Ilkley

Northern Ballet Presents Little Red Riding Hood - Thursday 9 April, St George's Hall
Retelling the classic fairytale with a Northern Ballet twist, Little Red Riding Hood is the perfect opportunity for your little ones to enjoy live ballet, music and theatre. Suitable for children aged 3+

The Elvis Years - The Story of the King - Saturday 11 April 7.30pm, King's Hall Ilkley

Exciting Science - Wednesday 15 April 11.30am, King's Hall Ilkley

Faith - The George Michael Legacy -Thursday 16 April 7.45pm, King's Hall Ilkley

The Real Thing Greatest Hits Tour 2020 - Friday 17 April 7.30pm, King's Hall Ilkley

You Can’t Hurry Love The Music of Diana Ross and The Supremes - Saturday 18 April 7.30pm, St George's Hall

BalletBoyz - Wednesday 22 April, Alhambra Theatre, 7.30pm
Get ready to meet Joey, Ben, Harry, Liam, Sandi and Will – the six exceptional young dancers who star in this feast of mesmerising and sublime dance, cleverly fused with the BalletBoyz trademark use of film and behind the scenes footage.

Rumours of Fleetwood Mac Live In Concert 2020 - Wednesday 22 April 7.30pm, St George's Hall

The Hallé – Friday 24 April 7.30pm, St George’ Hall
Part of Bradford’s International Classical Music Season 2019/20 - 152nd Bradford Orchestral Season

Jimmy Carr Terribly Funny - Tuesday 28 April 8pm, St George's Hall. Age recommendation 18+. SELLING FAST!

Disney’s The Lion King - Thursday 30 April – Saturday 20 June, Alhambra Theatre
Signed: Thur 14 May 7.30pm, Audio Described: Thur 4 June 2.30pm, Captioned: Thur 11 June 7.30pm, Relaxed performance: Tue 16 June 5pm
Brilliantly reimagined by acclaimed director Julie Taymor, Disney’s beloved film has been transformed into a spectacular theatrical experience that explodes with glorious colours, stunning effects and enchanting music. The Lion King is recommended for ages 6 and up. Children under 3 years of age are not permitted.

Amateur
Buttershaw St Paul’s Amateur Operatic & Dramatic Society Presents - Kipps The New Half A Sixpence Musical - Wednesday 22 – Saturday 25 January, St George’s Hall

 

To book for all of these shows please contact the Box Office on 01274 432000

or visit our website: bradford-theatres.co.uk

Booking fees apply

‹ Back to news